Paints & things

Figured I might as well give an update on my mentorship. The past few weeks I’ve been doing quick, 20-minute speed paintings. The results were… less than stellar. It definitely helped me see how far I had to go as an artist; I can’t keep relying on gimmicky vector art to save me.

I mean, it’s not the worst thing I’ve ever seen, but…

Today I had a meeting with my mentor, Mark Orr. He helped show me a few areas I was lacking in, most notably a sense of depth in my paintings. Here’s a painting I did earlier today, about 6 hours ago:
Kind of awful. That’s supposed to be a forest at the bottom, for the record. Ugh.

After getting some feedback in general on my paintings and watching Mark do a paintover of another piece, I tried my hand at touching up this one:

Maybe not professional level, but it’s unquestionably an improvement. I’m hoping to keep up this pace so I can actually paint something worth a damn by the end of this term.

Leave a Reply

